International Exam organised by IH Palermo
There are 5 CELI levels, from Elementary to Proficiency. They are based upon the Common European Framework for Modern Languages established by The Council of Europe and ALTE (Association of Language Testers in Europe). The level description is based on the students' ability to use general Italian in real life situations, at work or when studying. International students can enter Italian Universities with a CELI 3 Certificate or higher.


  • CELI 1: A2 (pre intermediate)
  • CELI 2: B1 (intermediate)
  • CELI 3: B2 (upper intermediate)
  • CELI 4: C1 (advanced)
  • CELI 5: C2 (proficiency)

Exam cost (all levels)


Exam dates:

Click here for exam dates